For NASCAR car kits.
Dale Sr. and Sterling
Red4
_VISITCOMMUNITY
California, United States
KitMaker: 4,287 posts
Auto Modeler: 76 posts
Posted: Friday, December 07, 2007 - 11:39 AM UTC
I forgot I had built these a few months ago. Noticed them as I was looking over my display cases....duh.. Sterllings car was a 10 day challenge between a buddy of mine and I. He stomped me, but we had fun with it. Totally OOB. With Dale Sr.'s Lumina I decided to add more goodies to it. I've never tried to detail one of these things before so I was flying blind on a lot of it. I spent a lot of time looking at builds by Clay Kemp (He does simply amazing work!) and used pics of his to determine where a lot of the plumbing should go. I guessed on a fair amount of it too Anyway, I'm happy with the end results. Still need to work on my gloss finishes. That is an artform in and of itself! Thanks for looking. "Q"

mother
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
KitMaker: 3,836 posts
Auto Modeler: 256 posts
Posted: Friday, December 07, 2007 - 12:17 PM UTC
The cars look great Matt, never was a fan of the man in black but your work on Dale's car looks good, nice work on the detail. Now the "Silver Bullet" sweeeeeet machine. During it's time it was one of the nicest cars out on the track. Again great job.

Joe

Quoted Text

Still need to work on my gloss finishes

NASCAR cars really didn’t have that show room gloss finish, spicily the decals. You could gloss the car and then apply the decals for a more realistic looking ride. Have you tried using Future Floor Wax, no need to thin, just shoot it straight from airbrush and what’s nice is that the floor wax levels itself out. You can also paint on the floor wax with a soft brush.
Red4
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Posted: Friday, December 07, 2007 - 05:34 PM UTC