_GOTOBOTTOM
Cars
Discuss all types of automotive modeling here.
Rat Rod build - 19?? Ford pickup
Yoni_Lev
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 861 posts
Auto Modeler: 339 posts
Posted: Thursday, January 15, 2009 - 08:03 AM UTC
True to form, I've veered off from my planned build yet again.

I was really looking forward to working on the '32 roadster and turning it into a rat rod worthy of the name. As a matter of fact, I started playing around with the kit last night, pulling parts and pieces out of various boxes and trying to get an idea of what I wanted to do with everything. I opened up the Revell '37 Ford pickup "junker kit" I've had for years, the one with the warped frame and missing suspension bits, hoping that the kit's stock flathead was still around. I found the engine, but then I started messing around with the frame. It didn't look too bad, you know; I thought some hot water and careful bending could straighten it out...

One thing led to another - I'll spare you the details - but in the end I shortened the frame 1/2" to get rid of the warp in the rails. I also chopped 1/4" out of the interior, firewall and rear bulkhead to get a nice deep channel. The results are in the pic. You can also see the newly shortened frame blue-taped onto the kit's bed floor to help it dry square and level.

I pulled the front axle and spring/shock combo out of the parts box, but they were originally from Revell's '37 Ford street rod convertible. While the glue was drying on the frame and interior bucket, I whipped up the rear suspension from some styrene tube and sheet, a tranverse leaf spring from the parts box, and what I believe is a Dana 60 center section from an AMT '68 Plymouth kit.

Up next: the bed gets shortened and I find a grille and some headlights.

BTW, the '32 roadster is still a possibility. We have 4 weeks, right?

-YL
Cuhail
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Illinois, United States
KitMaker: 2,058 posts
Auto Modeler: 310 posts