_GOTOBOTTOM
The Garage
For general automotive modeling or non-modeling topics.
Building Porches?
drabslab
_VISITCOMMUNITY
European Union
KitMaker: 2,186 posts
Auto Modeler: 13 posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 05, 2018 - 08:14 PM UTC
Hai everybody,

I am an aircraft builder, spending a lot of my on-line time on Aeroscale.

But I would like to do some cars, Porsches in particular, one hindrance being that I know nothing of the subject except that I dream of owning a 1.1 scale Porsche at some moment (which will most likely never happen :-) )

So, my questions:

1. Which scale should I take? I tend to stick to one scale to make things comparable.

2. Which brand is best for Porsche?

3. Is there any outstanding book on car modelling (and on Porsche in particular)?

VintageRPM
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Texas, United States
KitMaker: 300 posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 06, 2018 - 10:16 AM UTC
You Are basically looking at 3 scales, 1/2, 1/24, & 1/43.

In 1/12, about the only player is Model Factory Hiro. Multimedia kits that are very expensive and very difficult to build. Race cars only.

1/43 is the way to go if you want to build Porsche race cars. Many different brands available, although kits will be resin or white metal. Many are OOP (out of production) but a lot show up on eBay. Marsh, Starter (OOP), or Provence Moulage (OOP) would be the way to go.

Best bet for street cars is 1/24. Tamiya being you first choice. After that, there is Hasegawa, Fujimi, Revell, & Testors. What brand may just depend on which Porsche you want to build, although they probably all do some form of 911.

For 1/24 race cars, again Tamiya is your best choice, followed by Fisher Model & Pattern (resin) and Fujimi.
Hwa-Rang
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Kobenhavn, Denmark
KitMaker: 6,760 posts
Auto Modeler: 2,182 posts
Posted: Wednesday, June 06, 2018 - 05:25 PM UTC
AK-interactive have made a couple of books.

"Ratz, rodz and rust(Feat. expert car modeler Dr. Cranky)"
Mainly US cars, but lots of basic good to know stuff.