_GOTOBOTTOM
The Garage
For general automotive modeling or non-modeling topics.
I want to know what I'm gluing together
HunterCottage
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Stockholm, Sweden
KitMaker: 1,717 posts
Auto Modeler: 244 posts
Posted: Thursday, January 11, 2007 - 12:58 AM UTC
One aspect of this hobby that I enjoy, is trying to learn something about the parts (and their function) of the models I am building. I've built many cars and trucks wondering what it is I am gluing on/together. As you can tell I am not a mechanic, not even on a hobby basis. I'm wondering if there is a gracious sole out there in the Modelgeek virtualness that could help!

I guess I could take a photo of every piece, but am wondering if there isn't a better way of doing it? Any thoughts on this??

Thanks in advance!
mother
_VISITCOMMUNITY
New York, United States
KitMaker: 3,836 posts
Auto Modeler: 256 posts
Posted: Thursday, January 11, 2007 - 01:13 AM UTC
Hey Brain,
Good question, a little hard to answer. What I mean is there are many different parts from car to car and things changes through out the years. Also what model car you doing, what brand, make, year and what kit. There isn't to much that goes into a model car...drive train, engine, trany, frame and body.

I just did a google. com image search using the words "exploded engine view'..."exploded car view and so on and got results showing a parts break down. I'm sure we can help more if we know what we were looking at, or knew what kit your doing.

Good luck man,
Joe
HunterCottage
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Stockholm, Sweden
Posted: Thursday, January 11, 2007 - 02:14 AM UTC
You have brought up things that I didn't even think about, super! I was asking in general terms and maybe that can't be done very easily.