_GOTOBOTTOM
Paint & Finish
For automotive paint and finishing topics.
First time painting car
camper66
_VISITCOMMUNITY
South Carolina, United States
KitMaker: 53 posts
Auto Modeler: 6 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 02, 2015 - 01:40 AM UTC
I am an avid armor modeler and am used to using Tamiya paints and flat finishes on my tanks, etc.
My daughter has asked me to build her a model of Tamiya's new Beetle. This will be my first time working with a gloss coat. I have been reading some of the questions and answers on this forum and have gotten some good ideas.
I did have a few other questions. Is it necessary to primer the body for a good gloss finish? I perfer Tamiya paints as they are easy to get a hold of. I normally airbrush Tamiya acrylics, but would their spray paint be a good option fo rthe gloss finish? Any other words of advice?
Thanks all for the help.
md72
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Washington, United States
KitMaker: 4,950 posts
Auto Modeler: 555 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 02, 2015 - 01:56 AM UTC
Good luck. I'm a wingy thingy type and don't have much experience with automotive quality gloss coats. I'll follow your lead wan wait for the real experts to weigh in.
DaveCox
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 4,307 posts
Auto Modeler: 231 posts
Posted: Thursday, July 02, 2015 - 02:26 AM UTC
Tamiya acrylics are my favourite paints for any model, and I've used their gloss colours on car bodies with good results. I brush paint, so with an airbrush should be even better!
Their spray cans work pretty well too
camper66
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Posted: Thursday, July 02, 2015 - 02:32 AM UTC
Thanks Dave.
The color she wants (light green) appears to come in the gloss finish that I could use in my airbrush.