_GOTOBOTTOM
Cars
Discuss all types of automotive modeling here.
First wood ship model: Bluenose
caanbash
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ankara, Turkey / Türkçe
KitMaker: 1,093 posts
Auto Modeler: 0 posts
Posted: Sunday, December 19, 2004 - 09:32 PM UTC
Hi all...

I have been building my first wood ship model for 2 months from a beginner kit of Artesania Latina. The ship is a Canadian fishing schooner with a sexy hull :-D

There may not be many people interested in such a model, but I just want to share my enjoyment. The model is still on my workbench, Most of the job is completed. Hull, deck, masts and spars, painting, varnishing... I plan to rig the model unti the end of weekend.

Here are some pictures:

A couple of things to say: This is a gift from a friend, and she could afford a beginner kit. That I thought, was fine for me, as this was going to be my first wood ship model. But things went the other way. I began criticizing every bit and piece supplied in the kit, and the model turned to a 65% scratchbuilt model :-) All the belaying pins, posts, some deck planking, rudder, deck fittings and the rear cabin and some that I can not remember now are scrarch...

So, advice to those who have experience with wood: Do not buy a beginner kit if you are planning to make your first wood ship model.

Hope you enjoy the pictures. I will send the fully rigged model with sails next week, I hope.

Keep on modelling :-)

Oh by the way, rigging and attaching the two anchors took 5 hours!!! What a good way to waste a good sunny sunday...

DaveCox
_VISITCOMMUNITY
England - South East, United Kingdom
KitMaker: 4,307 posts
Auto Modeler: 231 posts
Posted: Sunday, December 19, 2004 - 09:39 PM UTC
Well done Cagin - I know how tricky it can be working on these kits. My first wooden ship was HMS Bounty - a three-masted brig. The rigging for each mast took about a week!
Keep up the good work and I look forward to seeing it finished!
caanbash
_VISITCOMMUNITY
Ankara, Turkey / Türkçe